Application Pool Stopped (Automatically Stops)


I am going to put this one up because it has popped up twice now on local vista boxes with WSS installed (I keep forgetting), and hope that it helps some other person out there save time when troubleshooting.

If your application pool(s) are automatically stopping every time you start them and visit a SharePoint site (or any website) then it might be because the application pool identity password has changed.
apppools

When this happens it results in a page result like this: (Since the application pool is stopped.)

serviceunavailable
Service Unavailable HTTP Error 503. The service is unavailable. (This is on a vista box with IIS 7 etc)

An easy way to check/resolve this is to just go to the identity setting of your application pool and re-add the password (as it was) to see if this resolves the issue. (Or in this case add the new password).
identitysettings

In theory your application pool identities password should never change since this is an account designed for this use (in many cases) but when I setup my local vista boxes I normally set it up to use my own identity which has a password that changes so this was something I had to troubleshoot when it came up.

Who knows maybe someone else has a reason for using an account which has it’s password changed periodically. If so then this is going to be something that you should take into account in your planning for whenever that password does cycle.

Hope this helps someone,
Richard Harbridge

Explore posts in the same categories: Administration, SharePoint 2007, Troubleshooting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “Application Pool Stopped (Automatically Stops)”

  1. Shireen Says:

    Hey Richard.. It did help me! Thanks! πŸ™‚

  2. Saravanan Says:

    Thanks,
    I had the same problem. You helped me resolving the problem simple and fast πŸ™‚

  3. Irainian Says:

    hey,
    Thanks…This helped me too. I am a domain user in a development environment and the company’s policy is to change passwords every 2 weeks, so that’s what I hit when I changed my password.

  4. Slugger Says:

    Hey

    Saved my day πŸ™‚

  5. Keval Solanki Says:

    Hi,
    I tried to configure application pool with current password but didn’t work finally I changed password of my windows administrator account and gave new password to application pool’s Identity and it worked!
    Thanks.
    Keval

  6. Madan Sharma Says:

    Thanks Its very helpful.

  7. Tapan Bhatt Says:

    Thank you so much,
    This is really a nice post and very helpful. I was fed up with this problem because I was searching on net from 2 days but didn’t find answer.Suddenly I came to this post and my problem solved in less than 5 min
    Thank you so much,

    Tapan.

  8. veera Says:

    Thanks, this helped me also.

  9. Naveed Says:

    Hi.. its really great .. Thanks a lot.

  10. khasha Says:

    thanx , it worked

  11. Karim Momtaz Says:

    Thanks for this very helpful comment! πŸ™‚
    Really thanks a lot!

  12. Gautam Says:

    Thanks it worked for me πŸ™‚

  13. Robby G Says:

    Great tip. Fixed it almost immediately


Leave a Reply

