Site Managers (Expectations, Roles and Responsibilities)


Just linking to a guest post I did for End User SharePoint: http://www.endusersharepoint.com/?p=1881

Here is the opening from the article:

A challenge with SharePoint for site managers, site administrators, or site owners is understanding their own role, it’s responsibilities, and what expectations come with being a ‘site owner, manager, or administrator’.

Before I go into what you can do from a Governance perspective, and related challenges I would like to use a quote from Mark Miller (from this article on user adoption and the success of this site ) that I think perfectly summarizes the ‘job’ of a site manager.

“Your job as a site manager isn’t to provide all the content for your site. Your job is to take care of and nurture those that will.” – Mark Miller

I would love to hear any feedback anyone has. So don’t hesitate to talk to me on twitter, comment here or on EUSP, or via carrier pigeon.

Hope this helps,
Richard Harbridge

Explore posts in the same categories: News and Opportunities, Reference, SharePoint 2007

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment